Sergey Antonov

One of the greatest artists of his generation, Sergey Antonov was born in 1983 into a family of cellists. His parents guided his first years, especially his mother, Maria Zhuravleva, a leading cello pedagogue at the prestigious Central Music School at the Moscow Conservatory. His father, Boris, was a gifted cellist and a member of the Bolshoi Symphony Orchestra under Vladimir Fedoseyev.

Sergey graduated from the Moscow Conservatory where he studied with Natalia Schakhovskaya and chamber music with Alexander Bonduryansky. Since 2006, Antonov has been studying with Terry King and is currently enrolled at the Longy School of Music in Boston.

A great influence on the cellist was his work with the late Mstislav Rostropovich. Sergey was a frequent participant in his master classes at the Moscow Conservatory, which led to the maestro's invitation to join him on tours of Europe and Russia.

In June 2007, Sergey Antonov won the prestigious Gold Medal at the XIII International Tchaikovsky Competition, one of the youngest cellists to win the prize ever. In addition, the Toyota Corporation awarded Antonov promotional sponsorship and a Special Prize: Favorite Artist in the Cello Division. Another award to the cellist was an offer from the Moscow Philharmonic: a five-year soloist contract over Russia with Moscow State Philharmonic Society Artists management.

Sergey has triumphed in many competitions including first prizes at the Swedish Duo Competition, the International Chamber Music Competition of the Chamber Music Foundation of New England the National ASTA Competition in Detroit (2007). He also has won top prizes in the Dotzauer and David Popper Competitions.

Antonov has appeared with the Moscow, St Petersburg, and Budapest Philharmonic Orchestras, the Philharmonia Di Nation (Italy and Spain) as well as numerous other orchestras in the Russian Federation. He has performed solo and chamber music recitals in Moscow, Boston, New York, Paris, Stockholm, Budapest and many other cities in Russia, Europe and the United States.